Newbie Question: How to start development with STM32F429

Hi there,

my company wants to try some new IoT stuff, but has zero experience there. As a developer I was given the task to evaluate development possibilities for our first prototype. Searching around the internet I found MicroEJ, which concepts sounds really cool. I have read some articles and tried different demonstations on the MicroEJ website. But I’m really not sure if this is the right approach.

Therefore I wanna ask for some basic help and some pointers in the right direction. Here is what we want to do. We plan on building a small gadget reading the blood preassure from the fingertips via a optical sensor. The data will then be further processed and then displayed on a small screen. The following picture shows the used hardware.

I stumbled across the following page: https://developer.microej.com/supported-hardware/stmicroelectronics-stm32f4/

What I don’t know is, whether our gadget can be implemented with MicroEJ. Also what are good first steps or tutorials for this approach? We want to use the newest SDK 5.0, but the demo implementations are built upon SDK 3.0. Is there a way to use the newest version?

Thanks very much for every reply. I’m also sorry if this is a foolish question, but we really do not have any experience here. But everyone has to start at some point.

Best regards,
Martin

Hi Martin,

First and foremost the short answer is yes, MicroEJ can do exactly what you want.

The long answer:

• on the hardware side you need to know what peripherals you’ll be using, and which protocols and interactions between peripherals and MCU are needed, you seem to already have an idea about that. The only thing I’d like to add is what will be the use of the USB-to-UART component here? Will it be used for debug/log traces?