MultiApp platform firmware example

I’m new to MicroEJ and currently trying to evaluate both the single and multi application firmware variants.

I have been able to build (and deploy to hardware) a SingleApp platform image, but have not been able to build a MultiApp platform image to support the WiFi download and control of apps - as possible when using the MicroEJ BLACK VEE image.

Are there any current (5.1.2? See “background” below) examples of how to build MultiApp/sandboxed platform firmware to reproduce the functionality of the MicroEJ BLACK VEE image?

Cheers,
Dave

Background:

IDE: 19.05, SDK: 5.1.2, Architecture: ESP32 GCC PSRAM EVAL 7.12.1, Hardware: WROVER 4.1

For the single app implementation I used the file “ESP32WROVER-HDAHT-fullPackaging-eval-1.5.1.zip” and imported the platform/project for “ESP32WROVER-SingleApp-GNUv52_xtensa-esp32-psram-1.5.1”. Using this method I can build and deploy firmware containing a single application.

For the Multi App (sandboxed?) implementation I used the file “ESP32WROVER-9C5H4-fullPackaging-eval-1.5.1.zip”, and imported the platform/project “ESP32WROVER-MultiApp-GNUv52_xtensa-esp32-psram 1.5.1”. I initially tried using the github example “MicroEJ/Example-MinimalMultiAppFirmware” to develop the firmware, but it requires MicroEJ 4.1.1 and Ivy 4.1, and failed miserably.

Hi @dkstones,

You are right, the minimal firmware example available on GitHub [1] is compatible with MicroEJ 4.1. MicroEJ 5 uses MMM for dependencies management, you can find how the new dependencies management is working at docs.microej.com [2].

Gaëtan for MicroEJ

[1] https://github.com/MicroEJ/Example-MinimalMultiAppFirmware
[2] https://docs.microej.com/en/latest/ApplicationDeveloperGuide/mmm.html

Thanks for the confirmation. Unfortunately I’m new to MicroEJ (and Java, Ant and Ivy!) so I’m on a steep learning curve and not sure if I’m even in the correct ballpark at times.